Laura Kiessling smiles in front of a glass sculpture of the periodic table of elements.

Kiessling Awarded 2019 Centenary Prize

Categories: Awards, Faculty

The Centenary Prize is awarded annually by the Royal Society of Chemistry to outstanding chemists who are also exceptional communicators.

Novartis Professor of Chemistry Laura L. Kiessling has been named a winner of the 2019 Centenary Prize. Awarded annually by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), the Centenary Prize is given to outstanding chemists who are also exceptional communicators.

Founded in 1947 to commemorate the centenary of the Chemical Society in 1841, the Centenary Prize consists of a monetary sum, a certificate, and a medal. Up to three winners are selected each year, and each will go on to complete a UK Lecture tour.

“Over the years, our lives have been significantly improved by the chemical sciences, from medicines and food to the environment itself,” said RSC chief executive Robert Parker. “We are proud of the contribution the chemical sciences make to our global community, which is why it is right for us to recognize important innovations and expertise such as these. Our Prizes and Awards recognize people from a range of different specialisms, backgrounds and locations. Every winner is an inspiration to the chemistry community and will play an incredibly important role in enriching people’s lives for generations to come.”

Kiessling shares this honor with two other 2019 awardees, Professor David MacMillan of Princeton University, and Professor Roberta Sessoli of the Università degli Studi di Firenze.

The Kiessling Group uses chemical biology to elucidate the biological roles of carbohydrates, with a focus on learning new mechanistic concepts.