Filter by News Category
Research Area
Deborah Chung smiles with David Oxtoby in front of a framed print out of Deborah's American Academy of Arts and Sciences induction letter that is hanging on the wall.

Deborah Chung inducted into American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Chung, a friend of Chemistry and a PhD alumna of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, was one of 270 inductees this year.

Read the Article

Photos: Moungi Bawendi’s first day as a Nobel laureate

A look at how the MIT professor spent his day after learning he had won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Read the Article
Moungi Bawendi poses with several colorful vials of Quantum Dots.

MIT chemist Moungi Bawendi shares Nobel Prize in Chemistry

For his work on techniques to generate quantum dots of uniform size and color, Bawendi is honored along with Louis Brus and Alexei Ekimov.

Read the Article
Zachary Fried smiles in an outdoor setting.

Zachary Fried wins Lewis E. Snyder Astrochemistry Award

This annual prize is awarded to the most innovative and unique astrochemical investigation in either observations, theory or laboratory work.

Read the Article

26 honored at the 2022-2023 Teaching Assistant, Grad Grader, and Leadership Awards Ceremony

This annual event, held on August 28, recognized the commendable achievements of many members of the Chemistry community.

Read the Article
Headshots of each individual indicated in the caption.

Freedman, Johnson, and Surendranath named 2023 Blavatnik Award Finalists

The Blavatnik Family Foundation has announced the Finalists for the World’s Largest Unrestricted Prizes to Early Career Scientists.

Read the Article
Kim Hollister smiles in front of a beige wall.

Kimberly Hollister receives AAUW American Dissertation Fellowship

Founded in 1881, the American Association of University Women (AAUW) has been one of the largest funders of women’s graduate education.

Read the Article
Jane Park smiles in an indoor setting.

Jane Park places first in the NERM 2023 Postdoctoral Scholar Poster Competition

The Northeast Regional Meeting (NERM) of the American Chemical Society was held this month at Northeastern University.

Read the Article
Headshots of the six individuals listed below.

Six Outstanding Mentors honored with Mentorship Spotlight Awards

These awards, given in recognition of exceptional commitment to mentorship, are presented each Fall and Spring by the Department of Chemistry.

Read the Article
Image of Professor Dan Suess

Dan Suess awarded Student Champion Award by the Office of the First Year

Suess was selected for this award due to his dedication to first-year students, meticulous advising practices, and advocating for his students.

Read the Article
Photos of Kathryn Yammine and Jupneet Singh smiling at the camera.

Jupneet Singh and Kathryn Yammine receive MIT Awards

Singh (SB '23) and Yammine were among twenty-five students who received awards at this year's MIT Awards Convocation.

Read the Article

Undergraduate Achievements Celebrated at 2023 Recognition Banquet

This annual event, held on May 16, 2023, honored the accomplishments of the graduating Class of 2023 and other undergraduate students.

Read the Article
Headshots of the individuals in the caption/

J-WAFS announces 2023 seed grant recipients

Professors Alex Radosevich and Tim Swager are among the fifteen faculty chosen to receive 2023 seed grants.

Read the Article