Image of Professor Keith Nelson

Keith Nelson receives 2021 William F. Meggers Award from The Optical Society

Categories: Awards, Faculty

The OSA Awards Program celebrates the field's technical, research, education, business, leadership and service accomplishments.

Haslam and Dewey Professor of Chemistry Keith Nelson has been named the recipient of the 2021 William F. Meggers Award by The Optical Society of America (OSA). Nelson is one of 17 recipients of this year’s OSA awards and medals. Throughout the year, OSA will recognize a total of 23 awardees for their distinguished achievements.

“The 2021 Awardees truly embody the Society’s core values of innovation, integrity, inclusivity and impact,” said 2021 OSA President Connie Chang-Hasnain, Whinnery Chair Professor Emerita of EECS at University of California, Berkeley, USA. “They now join the ranks of OSA honorees who have greatly influenced the global optics and photonics community. In addition, I applaud the efforts of those who nominated candidates, submitted references and participated on the selection committees.”

The OSA honored Nelson for expanding the horizons of impulsive stimulated Raman scattering (ISRS) to the generation of intense tunable terahertz pulses, thus establishing new transient-grating techniques for a more effective application of time-domain coherent nonlinear spectroscopy in the study of condensed phase molecular dynamics.

Established in 1970, the Meggers Award is presented for outstanding work in spectroscopy. It honors William F. Meggers for his notable contributions to the field of spectroscopy and metrology, and was endowed by the family of William F. Meggers, several individuals and a number of optical manufacturers.

Research in the Nelson Group is aimed at time-resolved optical study and control of condensed matter structural changes and the collective modes of motion through which they occur.