Jeremiah Johnson and Tracy Slatyer win 2017 School of Science Teaching Prizes

Categories: Awards, Faculty, MIT News

Faculty members in chemistry and physics honored for excellence in graduate and undergraduate teaching.

The School of Science recently announced the winners of its 2017 Teaching Prizes for Graduate and Undergraduate Education. The prizes are awarded annually to School of Science faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching. Winners are chosen from nominations by their students or colleagues.

Jeremiah Johnson, the Firmenich Career Development Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry, was awarded the prize for undergraduate education for his role in 5.43 (Advanced Organic Chemistry). Nominators remarked on how his sincere enthusiasm and well-organized lectures and recitations made extremely challenging subject matter accessible and enjoyable.

Tracy Slatyer, the Jerrold R. Zacharias Career Development Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics, was awarded the prize for graduate education for her course 8.323 (Relativistic Quantum Field Theory I). While her nominators were impressed with her passion for and mastery of the subject, they especially appreciated that she made her students feel comfortable with asking many questions and that she carefully considered and answered each question.

The School of Science welcomes Teaching Prize nominations for its faculty during the spring semester each academic year. For more information please visit the school’s website.