Three Chemistry students to be honored at the 2018 MIT Awards Convocation

Categories: Awards, Events, Students

The MIT Awards Convocation honors MIT students, faculty, staff, and community members who have made outstanding contributions to the shared life of the Institute.

Photo (From Left): Helena Ma, Kenny Chen, and Jessica Carr

Three members of the Department of Chemistry’s student body have been named recipients of 2018 MIT Awards, and will be honored at the 2018 MIT Awards Convocation.

Jessica Carr of the Bawendi Group will be receiving the The Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award. Given in memory of Edward L. Horton, a doctoral candidate in Physics, this award is meant to honor his spirited contributions to graduate student life at the Institute. The award will be presented to any student group that fosters fellowship within the graduate student community. This award was established by the Graduate Student Council upon the untimely death of Mr. Horton in 1982.

Kenny Chen of the Shoulders Group will be receiving the The John S. W. Kellett ’47 Award. This award recognizes any MIT individual or group for an exceptional and/or sustained commitment to creating a more welcoming environment at MIT, including but not limited to, improving the experience of lesbian, bisexual, gay, transgendered (LBGT), and questioning individuals. The award honors Mr. Kellett, whose spirited support has enabled significant improvements in the lives of members of MIT’s LBGT community.

Chen will also be receiving a William L. Stewart, Jr. Award. The Stewart Awards are presented in memory of William L. Stewart, Jr., an alumnus and member of the Corporation who demonstrated deep interest in student life at MIT. The Stewart Awards recognize outstanding contributions by an individual student or student organization to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year.

Helena Ma, a member of the Class of 2019, will be receiving the Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service. Honoring Priscilla King Gray’s contributions to public service at MIT, the award recognizes graduate and undergraduate students who are exceptionally dedicated to community engagement and making a difference at MIT and beyond. Students recognized by this award demonstrate an outstanding personal dedication to social change, long-term and in-depth involvement in public service, and lead initiatives that strengthen our community. The award was established by the Undergraduate Association in collaboration with the Priscilla King Gray Public Service Center to recognize undergraduate students. In recent years, the Graduate Student Council joined as a co-sponsor to honor graduate students as well.

Congratulations to Jessica, Kenny, and Helena on these extraordinary achievements.

All are invited to to celebrate the winners of the 2018 Awards Convocation. The event will be held on Thursday, May 10 at 4 pm in the Samberg Center on the 7th floor of the Chang Building (E52).