Seven Chemistry Seniors Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Categories: Awards, Students

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society.

The Xi Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa voted to invite a distinguished cohort from the Class of 2021 to membership in the Society in recognition of their excellent academic records and commitment to the objectives of a liberal education. This achievement is bestowed upon fewer than 10% of the class. Seven members of the esteemed group who have received this notable achievement are graduating Chemistry majors:

  • Zhengkai Huang of Wuhan, China
  • Alby Joseph of Westbury, New York
    Materials Science & Engineering and Chemistry
  • Anna Khoroshilov of Ottowa, Ontario
    Chemistry and Physics
  • Eleane Lema of Fall River, Massachusetts
  • Siam Muquit of Jamaica, New York
  • Harrison Wang of Hinsdale, Illinois
    Chemistry and Physics
  • Deborah Wen of Honolulu, Hawaii
    Chemistry and Physics

Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) honors the nation’s most outstanding undergraduate students for excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Only 10% of higher education institutions have PBK chapters, and fewer than 10% of students at these institutions are selected for membership. The Department is incredibly proud of these inductees and all of their illustrious achievements.

MIT’s own chapter, Xi of Massachusetts, annually elects students in their senior year of undergraduate study. Students do not apply for membership. Election is conducted by a faculty committee, which reviews the academic records of seniors to find students with superlative records and clear evidence of breadth in the liberal arts.