Undergraduate Majors stand for a group photo at a banquet.

Chemistry Department Recognizes Undergraduate Achievements at Annual Banquet

Categories: Awards, Students

The annual Recognition Banquet honored the accomplishments of the graduating Class of 2018 and other undergraduate students.

On Tuesday, May 15, 2018, the annual Undergraduate Recognition Banquet was held in the R&D Common Area of the Stata Center. Chemistry faculty, staff, and students gathered to celebrate the Course 5 and Course 5-7 graduating class of 2018 and their achievements, in addition to those of other members of the undergraduate community. Guests enjoyed a dinner organized by the Chemistry Education Office, while Department Head Tim Jamison kicked off the evening with opening remarks and Associate Department Head Troy Van Voorhis served as the ceremony’s emcee.

Over the course of the event, each graduating senior was recognized for their achievements by a member of the Chemistry faculty, and undergraduate and senior awards were presented.

At the evening’s conclusion, the members of the Class of 2018 were among the first to receive this year’s departmental gift – a limited edition Department of Chemistry cap.

Congratulations to all award recipients, and to the Senior Class of 2018!


2018 Undergraduate Awards

Freshmen Chemistry Achievement Award
For outstanding academic achievement in chemistry
Owen Broderick
Alexandra Dima
Ruiwen (Doris) Fu
Benjamin Nguyen
Harrison Wang

Outstanding Sophomore Achievement Award
For outstanding achievement in academics, research, and service to the Department of Chemistry
Hikari Iwasaki
Corin Wagen
Sherry Zhou

ACS Analytical Chemistry Award
For outstanding achievement by a junior in analytical chemistry
Min Woo Bae

Outstanding UROP Presentation Award
For outstanding undergraduate research and in recognition of the best presentation at the 2017 Chemistry UROP Symposium
Corin Wagen

Alpha Chi Sigma
For outstanding achievement in scholarship, research, and service to the Department of Chemistry
Coral Bays-Muchmore

For outstanding contributions in the area of research
Samuel Gordon
Mercedes Ondik

For significant contributions in the area of service to the Department of Chemistry
Samuel Gordon

Merck Index
For outstanding scholarship
Camilo Espinosa
Alexander Turner
David Vaccaro