Tyler Brezler to be Honored with a 2017 School of Science Infinite Mile Award

Danielle Randall
April 20, 2017

The MIT School of Science has announced its 2017 winners of the Infinite Mile Award. The Infinite Mile Award honors staff members in all categories whose accomplishments and contributions far exceed their assigned duties. Assistant Financial Administrator Tyler Brezler has been selected to receive this award for his exceptional dedication in his role on the Finance Team in the Department of Chemistry.

Tyler was promoted to Assistant Financial Administrator in March of 2017, one year after his accepting the position of sponsored research Financial Coordinator for the Department of Chemistry in March of 2016. His time within the Department, however, began in 2003, when he was hired as an Administrative Assistant II. He worked, and became indispensible to, Professors Rick Danheiser, Mohammad Movassaghi, and Jeremiah Johnson. When Tyler made the transition to Financial Coordinator for the Department of Chemistry, he brought with him the same skills that made him such an asset to the faculty members he had supported for over a decade. He immediately applied his previously acquired financial experience and strong analytical skills to the role, and was quickly given several challenging sponsored research proposals, one of which was highly complex and extremely time sensitive. Tyler not only handles his responsibilities adeptly, he breaks records - in a span of eleven months, he submitted 100 sponsored research proposals to 50 unique sponsors for Chemistry faculty. In addition to efficiently accomplishing these monumental tasks, Tyler is extremely proactive, and has established a large number of improved and streamlined financial tools and systems without any impact on the performance of his primary duties. He is deeply committed to improving processes not only within the Department of Chemistry, but MIT as a whole, and the daily lives of many are improved by Tyler being a part of them.

Since the Infinite Mile Award program was established in 2001, the School of Science has presented the awards to more than 300 of its members based on the nominations of grateful colleagues. Tyler, along with the rest of the 2017 Infinite Mile Recipients, will be honored at a luncheon and ceremony on May 17, 2017.


2017 Infinite Mile Award Winners

Paul Acosta, Laboratory for Nuclear Science
Tyler Brezler, Chemistry
Cesar Duarte, Mathematics
Becky Ecung, Mathematics
Christin Glorioso, Biology
Diviya Sinha, Biology
Magdalah Wesh, Biology
Nina Wu, Physics