Sylvia Ceyer steps down as Department Head after 5 successful years

Liz McGrath
June 29, 2015

Pictured:  Moungi Bawendi and Sylvia Ceyer (photography by Liz McGrath)

On June 25, 2015, Sylvia Ceyer, J. C. Sheehan Professor of Chemistry, was feted by chemistry faculty and chemistry headquarters staff at a luncheon in her honor on the occasion of completion of her 5 year appointment as department head.

"During the past five years, Sylvia has steered the department through a myriad of challenges from funding for basic research to the completion of the renovation of the chemistry space in Building 2,” Dean of Science, Mike Sipser said in announcing Ceyer's plans to step down from the position. 

Moungi Bawendi, the Lester Wolfe Professor of Chemistry, on behalf of the department, thanked Professor Ceyer for her excellent service placing emphasis on her success in recruiting several spectacular junior faculty and a senior hire.  Sylvia Ceyer, in response, said, "together, the department faced many challenges, but most of them have been met or are well on their way to being resolved." She expressed how deeply honored she was for having been given the opportunity to head the department, and said, in particular, how wonderful it had been working with the entire chemistry headquarters team.
Professor Timothy F. Jamison will assume the position of Head of the Department effective July 1, 2015.