Greg Walton Honored with a 2017 MIT Excellence Award

Danielle Randall
March 15, 2017

On Thursday, March 16, 2017, the winners of this year's MIT Excellence Awards will be honored at a ceremony and reception in Kresge Auditiorium to celebrate their superior performance in their roles at MIT. The MIT Excellence Awards are among the highest honors awarded to staff by MIT, and acknowledge the extraordinary efforts made in the spirit of fulfilling the goals, values, and mission of the Institute. In 2014, the Collier Medal was created to honor the memory of Officer Sean Collier, whose spirit will live on through the award recipients. This year’s award winners range from a film media assistant, to a project technician, to an environmental health and safety coordinator, to an instrument maker. They work in numerous roles across MIT campus and at Lincoln Laboratory. In each of their respective categories, this year’s winners have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and a commitment to the MIT community. Among these exemplary individuals is the Department of Chemistry's exceptional IT Service Provider & Consumer Support Engineer, Greg Walton, who will be receiving the Serving the Client Award for his work with MIT's Information Systems & Technology department.

This coming June, Greg will celebrate his tenth anniversary working at MIT, and for the past three years, he has gone above and beyond with his consistent, quality service to the Department of Chemistry's many IT needs. In addition to Chemistry, Greg provides outstanding IT support to the Department of Physics and the MIT News OfficeLeadership in the Department of Physics initiated the nomination by submitting letters of support for Greg's efforts, and he was selected to receive the award out of a great many nominees. Though he is often pulled in many directions, Greg possesses the unique ability to multitask and devote time to each faculty and staff member's needs, all with an infectious, positive attitude. His efficiency, patience, and ability to solve problems both remotely and in person (often within minutes!) make him a truly invaluable asset to the Department. 

The entire MIT community is welcome to attend the MIT Excellence Awards and Collier Medal ceremony and reception on Thursday, March 16, from 3 to 5 p.m. in the Kresge Auditorium.


2017 MIT Excellence Award Winners

Advancing Inclusion and Global Perspectives

Virginia Johnson

Monica Marie Orta

Lianne P. Shields

Bringing Out the Best

Brent Oberlin

Raoul Ouaedraogo 

Alexia Schulz

Collier Medal

Lorraine K. Wong

Innovative Solutions

William B. McCarthy  

​Outstanding Contributor

Edison Arana

Katherine Barlett

Kimberly Benard

Jonathan Byford

Tina Gilman 

Jane Hamilton

Forrest Larson

Stuart Levine

Benjamin Nahill

Aida Riley

Vienna Rothberg

Jeffrey Stewart

Kerin Willis

Susan Young 

Serving the Client

Robin M. Deadrick

Brian Jones

Rosa G. Liberman

Sarah Rankin

Laura Ryan

Darren J. Scartissi

Greg Walton

Sustaining MIT 

Ruth T. Davis

Stephanie Trembley