Chemistry Undergraduate Achievements Recognized at Annual Banquet

Danielle Randall
May 24, 2017

Front (L to R):
Lucy Gabriel, Aofei Liu, Chew Chai, Sebasthian Santiago

Back (L to R):
Nick Garcia, Jiwon Park, Ian Perry, James Deng, Tomo Soejima, Jessica Gable, Cynthia Yang, Javier Castillo, Alexandra Panov, Emma Chant

On Thursday, May 18, 2017, the annual Undergraduate Recognition Banquet was held in the R&D Common Area of the Stata Center. Chemistry faculty, staff, and students gathered to celebrate the Course 5 graduating class of 2017 and their achievements, in addition to those of other members of the undergraduate community. Guests enjoyed a dinner organized by Jennifer Weisman, Rebecca Teixeira, Jay Matthews, and Grace Kimball of the Chemistry Education Office, while Department Head Tim Jamison and Associate Department Head Troy Van Voorhis kicked off the evening with their opening remarks. 

Over the course of the event, each graduating senior was recognized for their achievements by a member of the Chemistry faculty, and undergraduate and senior awards were presented.

The evening concluded with the unveiling of the 2017 departmental gift, and all members of the department received a reusable mug emblazoned with the new MIT Chemistry logo. 

Congratulations to all award recipients, and to the Course 5 Senior Class of 2017!


2017 Chemistry Undergraduate Awards

Freshmen Chemistry Achievement Award
For outstanding academic achievement in chemistry
Alexander Alabugin
Hikari Iwasaki
Priscilla Liow

Outstanding Sophomore Achievement Award
For outstanding achievement in academics, research, and service to the Department of Chemistry
Min Woo Bae

ACS Analytical Chemistry Award
For outstanding achievement by a junior in experimental chemistry
David Vaccaro

Outstanding UROP Presentation Award
For outstanding undergraduate research and in recognition of the best presentation at the 2017 Chemistry UROP Symposium
To Be Announced

2017 Chemistry Senior Awards

Alpha Chi Sigma Award
For outstanding achievement in scholarship, research, and service to the Department of Chemistry
James Deng
Aofei Liu

Research Award
For outstanding contributions in the area of research
Jessica Gable
Nicholas Garcia
Jiwon Park
Ian Perry

Frederick D. Greene Teaching Award
For outstanding contributions in the area of teaching
Sebasthian Santiago
Justin Bader

ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award
For excellence in inorganic chemistry
Tomohiro Soejima

ACS Organic Chemistry Award
For excellence in organic chemistry
James Deng

Merck Index Award
For outstanding scholarship
Tomohiro Soejima

Service Award
For significant contributions in the area of service to the Department of Chemistry
Nicholas Garcia
Tomohiro Soejima

Special Recognition

Phi Beta Kappa 2017 Inductees
Alexander Clifton
James Deng
Aofei Liu
Tomohiro Soejima



Special Thanks
We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks and appreciation to the following chemistry majors for their service this year to the department and the field of chemistry.

Justin Bader
Min Woo Bae
Emma Chant
Songela Chen
Katherine Chew
Luciné Gabriel
Nicholas Garcia
Farah Kabir
Catherine Williamson

Nicholas Garcia
Aofei Liu
James Deng
Tomohiro Soejima
Christopher Hillenbrand
Songela Chen
Tabrez Alam
Yue Zhang
Stephen Truong
Abraham Park
Michal Gala
David Wang
Jesse Hinricher
Hikari Iwasaki
David Vaccaro
Min Woo Bae
Samuel Gordon