Chakraborty named 2018 Guggenheim Fellow

Danielle Randall
April 9, 2018

The following has been adapted from a press release by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Arup Chakraborty, the Robert T. Haslam Professor in Chemical Engineering, Professor of Chemistry & Biological Engineering has been named the recipient of a 2018 Guggenheim Fellowship by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. 

Established in 1925 by former United States Senator and Mrs. Simon Guggenheim, in memory of seventeen-year-old John Simon Guggenheim, the elder of their two sons, who died April 26, 1922, this prestigious fellowship is intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Chakraborty's fellowship supports his work on strategies to develop broadly neutralizing antibodies against highly mutable pathogens.

After an early career in guiding the engineering of polymers and catalysts using quantum mechanical calculations, since 2000, Chakraborty’s work has focused on bringing together immunology and the physical and engineering sciences; more specifically, the intersection of statistical mechanics and immunology. His interests span T cell signaling, T cell development and repertoire, and a mechanistic understanding of HIV evolution, antibody evolution, and vaccine design. Chakraborty’s work at the intersection of disciplines has been recognized by numerous honors, including the NIH Director’s Pioneer Award, the E.O. Lawrence Medal for Life Sciences from the US DOE, the Allan P. Colburn and Professional Progress awards from the AIChE, a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar award, and a National Young investigator award. Chakraborty was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering for completely different bodies of work. He is also a member of the National Academy of Medicine, making him one of 21 individuals who are members of all three branches of the US National Academies. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and serves on the US Defense Science Board. Chakraborty has received four teaching awards at Berkeley and MIT.