2016 Presidential Graduate Fellows Honored at Welcome Reception

Danielle Randall
November 16, 2016
Left to Right: Kristin Zuromski, Cassandra Zentner, Jennifer Weisman (Academic Administrator), Erica Tsai, Greg Cleveland, Michael Mardini
Not pictured: Luming Yang
On September 26, 2016, the 2016 recipients of the prestigious Presidential Fellowship were honored at a reception put together by the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education. 
MIT established the prestigious program of Presidential Fellowships in 1999 in order to recruit the most outstanding students worldwide to pursue graduate studies at the Institute. Since then, the program has grown to support over 120 new graduate students annually as Presidential Fellows.
Presidential Fellowships are nine-month fellowships that fund the tuition, monthly stipend, and the student extended insurance plan of awardees for their first academic year at MIT. Presidential Fellows are selected by the President and Provost from a pool of candidates nominated by the School deans, as well as the heads of departments and interdisciplinary programs. Each Presidential Fellow receives a special letter from the President of MIT emphasizing the prestigious nature of the award and identifying the benefactor responsible for the award. This letter follows the offer of admission from the department.
The Department of Chemistry is proud to welcome six 2016 Presidential Fellows:
Greg Cleveland (Radosevich Lab)
Michael Mardini (Griffin Lab)
Erica Tsai (Buchwald Lab)
Luming Yang (Dinca Lab)
Cassandra Zentner (Swager Lab)
Kristin Zuromski (Baker Lab, Biology)