2009 Inaugural Class of Fellows of the ACS

July 1, 2009

Emeritus Professor, Dietmar Seyferth, has been elected to the 2009 inaugural class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society.

When it meets next month in Washington, D.C., the society will honor its first class of ACS Fellows. These 162 members "share a common set of accomplishments, namely true excellence in their contributions to the chemical enterprise coupled with distinctive service to ACS or to the broader world of chemistry," says Immediate Past-President Bruce E. Bursten, who championed creation of the program and shepherded it through board approval last year.The 2009 ACS Fellows will be honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in Washington, D.C. in August 2009.